Ow! Ow! Burnett is Burning and Big Bats Are On Fire

Burnett and Offense Smokin’ in Victory Over Rays

In the first road game since I started my blog, the Yankees had everything working for a win. A.J. Burnett was awesome, and everyone in the lineup got at least 1 hit. It all added up to an 11-4 Yankee win. Here’s how it happened.

Pitching Analysis: A.J. Burnett continued his hot pitching, and had his nasty curveball and power fastball working. He went 7, allowing an unearned run due to a strikeout-wild pitch where Upton reached 1st. He struck out 5, and only allowed 2 hits. He is so fun to watch. Is it me or does he always look cranky on the mound? I don’t know why; he pitches so well. He has nothing to be cranky about. Just a game face I guess. Well anyway, A.J. was as good as I’ve ever seen him last night. I would be more that fine with him starting the World Series for us.

A.J.’s making his cranky face in this picture!

Jonathan Albaladejo, recently recalled from Scranton after Gardner broke his thumb, pitched 2/3 of the 8th, allowing 2 runs. He was not called up to be lights out, he just needed to give the bullpen some rest. And by this time the Yanks had a huge lead anyway. David Robertson came on to finish the game, allowing 1 run in 1 & 1/3 innings. The pitching was definetely a plus for the Yankees last night.

Defensive Analysis: Aside from Burnett’s wild pickoff throw in the first, the defense was once again solid last night. In the bottom of the 6th, Cano, Jeter, and Tex turned a nice 4-6-3 double play on Evan Longoria, preventing a big inning for the Rays. We have the best infield in the game, and like many of my fellow bloggers, I agree that Cano should win the Gold Glove this year.

Offensive Analysis: The Yankees touched home plate 11 times last night, and got contributions from every man in the lineup. Cano had a nice game with a homer, a triple, and 2 walks. Swisher had 2 homers. Damon had a 3-run homer, the 200th of his carreer. The Yankees better sign him. The birthday boy Alex Rodriguez had a 2-run double last night. My man Lechemente had 2 hits again last night, extending his hitting streak to 6 straight. Melky continues to be a weapon in the bottom of the order. Aside from Melky, many of the Yankees have hitting streaks, which were all extended last night.

It was the perfect win for the Yankees last night. They kept their 2.5 game lead over Boston, who happened to be victorious last night. The heroes for last night are A.J. Burnett for turnin’ me on with his hot curveball, and the entire Yankee lineup for smashing 15 hits and 11 runs. Let’s stay hot! Make this mama proud! (I don’t know what made me say that.) GO GETT’EM BOYS! I LOVE YOU GUYS!!!

12 comments

  1. Jane Heller

    Nice blog! And it’s great to “meet” another Yankee fan. AJ was fantastic last night. He’s been pitching with so much confidence lately, and his stuff is unreal. The Rays have some great hitters, but he managed to keep them off the bases for the most part. I thought he might get rattled by Crawford’s steals, but he kept it together.

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  2. matttan7

    Yankees are great, I like the way you summarized it. I think the Yankees are going to win the series versus the Rays, they just have to keep them from hitting home runs, especially Pat Burrell who went deep against them last night.

    Matthew Tang
    http://matt7.mlblogs.com/

  3. jobrown

    Nice blog! Keep the good work Belle. Yesterday the Yanks showed us once again what a world series’ participating team looks like. Yankees vs. Dodgers in the world series would be too much but it’s too soon to make predictions so I’ll try to contend myself.

  4. thekfny28

    That ain’t his cranky face, that’s his assassin face. oh lookie there, we have a new nickname for AJ Burnett now! The assassin. So we now have Double Tre(Sergio Mitre), The Assassin, The Big Man(CC), now we just need to name Joba and Pettitte… suggestions welcome.

    as for Cervelli and Pena, I probably would’ve left them off even if they hadn’t played up here because they hadn’t really had minor league offensive success, which is key. plus, it’s hard to find a scouting report on Frankie out there. Cervelli and Pena would’ve missed the list.

    Haha, I miss him mucho too. xP

    -EJ the Kid From New York
    http://yankeesquad.mlblogs.com

  5. jcole1994

    Hey,
    In response to your question, I would imagine that Burnett would influence Docs decision, but dont forget its not only about Halladay. Richardi wants a lot as it is, and adding the fact that the Yanks are in their division, he would want even more. I dont see Cashman dealing his future like that, but dont rule it out, the Yankees are always in the mix and usually their big deals come out of nowhere (remember the Teixeira deal). Personally, I would like to see the Yankees win with what they have right now. Enough is enough.

  6. raysfanboy

    Last night hurt alot, but I feel just that good tonight. Just a little payback, eh? Just when my faith in my guys was wavering, we take you out 6-1. Of course, I am going to ignore that only half our runs were earned and that you committed 2 errors that completely changed the game. I’ll just ignore all that and take the win. Because if I focus on that stuff I’m gonna start feeling bad again! Big game tomorrow!
    http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

  7. JQuist

    – CC got battered and bruised yesterday, but losses are bound to happen and break up any streak. As long as the Red Sox lose on cue, (which they DID,) – we’re fine. We just can’t make a habit of it…

Leave a comment