Winning Without Me

Drama Club Steals the Show from Lee and the Rangers

I want to kill my TV. It sucks. Seriously, I’ve had enough with it. It just doesn’t work anymore. Maybe it’s because I always throw my shoes at it….

Maybe, but I don’t think that’s the main reason. Our TV is a dinosaur. I’m not kidding, our TV is 24 year old Zenith. It’s big and beautiful – the screen is embedded into the piece, and it’s like a piece of furniture.

Exactly like this one! Only with mine, it’s hard to watch baseball.

So last night, we put the YES Network on around 7:30 and listened to the pregame while we ate dinner. Then around 7:50, the picture and sound were gone. Oh great. And of course, it didn’t come back. The clock said 8:07, and I was itching to see my Yankees. But no. tHe picture was gone.

The cable guy says it’s not because the TV is old, it’s because the cable lines are either filled with water, or get this: the SQUIRRELS are chewing them.

I think we just need a new TV.

Anyway, of course the YES Network was dead last night, but the stupid movie channels worked. And of course, my Dad found the perfect thing to watch on my favorite channel: Encore Westerns. God help me.

All of a sudden, I hear my older brother, who was downstairs on the computer, scream. My Dad asked him what was wrong, and he said, “THEY SUUUCK. Javier gave up a home run.”

Yankees down a run….and facing Cliff Lee…then I wasn’t so sure if I wanted to watch the game, even if the TV would let me.

           The New York Yankees beat the Rangers Wednesday, 7-6, despite Texas' six runs in five innings off starting pitcher Javier Vazquez (above). 

Eventually, my parents went to bed, leaving me and my little brother with control over the TV. No more westerns!

We tried the YES Network again, and it worked…but I lost my desire to watch. The score was 6-1 Rangers.

So we switched it over to our favorite movie, Tropic Thunder. If you’ve never seen it, I suggest you do. Nonstop laughter, and there’s actually a plot!

Through our intense laughter, we heard clapping from downstairs. After pulling ourselves together, Tommy and I yelled to Bobby, “Hey! What’s going on down there?”

Turns out, the Yankees scored.

Okay, so they scored…but could they really come back from this huge deficit?

Every once in awhile, we would switch back to YES. In the 8th, we saw Marcus Thames rounding the bases. He hit a home run? And then we noticed the score: 6-5???

Are they seriously coming back?

       New York Yankees DH Marcus Thames (r.) receives a high five from third base coach Rob Thomson after his eighth-inning solo home run. Thames also knocks in the go-ahead run in the ninth.

When the game reached the 9th inning, we decided to watch. Luckily, we saw the good stuff: With 2 men on and the infield in, Derek Jeter hit a bouncing ball through for a base hit! That tied the game at 6.

After Nick Swisher struckout again, it was up to Marcus Thames. And again, Thames delivered a solid base hit through the left side, giving the Yankees their first lead of the night: 7-6.

Mariano made things too close for comfort in the bottom of the 9th, surrendering a leadoff triple. But there was no way Mo was going to lose the game 2 nights in a row. So the Great Mariano did his thing, and that runner didn’t move. YANKEES WIN 7-6!

I never in a million years thought they would win it last night. I mean, the team has looked so dead for the past few days. But I guess last night was different. The heroes for this victory are the guys that I saw win it for the Yanks: Jeet, Mo, and Marcus Thames.

When the Yankees got Marcus Thames in the offseason, I didn’t think much of it. I celebrated over getting Granderson and Vazquez. But in reality, little Mr. Marcus Thames has proved to be the best acquisition the Yankees added this year. He doesn’t play much, but when he does, he contributes. I hope they keep him.

With an ever-so-slim 1.5 game lead in the AL East, I’m hoping the Yankees can sweep the Kansas City Royals and gain a little ground. And hopefully, I’ll be able to actually watch them do it.

GO YANKEEEEEEES!!!!!!!

3 comments

  1. bklyntrolleyblogger

    ROTFLMAO!!!!! I just threw out a 22 year old SONY. I had one of the sets you speak of! That’s why this is so funny! Necessity is the mother of all purchasing. That TV set was at the top of the food chain….once. The day will come when your children will laugh at you and your iPOD. Tread carefully! LOL.
    Loved the post. Oh YEA!!! The squirrels…I’ve watched them in my own backyard chew on the telephone and cable wires. It sharpens their teeth and when they hit the voltage…they run away! It’s the funniest thing but not when they chew on your line. There is always a repairman lurking fixing squirrel bites. Too much. I’m cracking up.
    mike
    http://thebrooklyntrolleyblogger.mlblogs.com/

  2. Melloak

    Hi Virginia.
    I made similar experiences with my old laptop. It was too old and too slow to watch HD pictures, they looked like a fast running slide show. So I finally sold it and bought a new PC. Now everything is running fine and problems were blown away (in this case). So I accompany my two other commentators here in the final saying: you ought to have a new TV. Perhaps you can build a squirrels box from the old one?

    See you and greetings from Germany.
    Detlef.
    http://melloak.mlblogs.com/

Leave a comment